African Society of Drosophilists

On the 23rd of July in the Zoological Gardens of the University of Ibadan (Nigeria) it was created the AFRICAN SOCIETY OF DROSOPHILISTS (ASD), with the aim of promoting research and teaching using Drosohila melanogaster as well as fostering collaboration among all current and future african fly groups. The Council of the Society will be formed by the following members of the ASD:

  • President Prof S.B. Olaleye
  • Chairperson: Dr Marta Vicente-Crespo
  • Vice-Chairperson: Prof A. Adedeji
  • Secretary: Dr Amos Abolaji

Regional/Country representatives:

  • Nigeria: Dr Wuyep Ponchang
  • Rwanda: Dr Blessing Pereye
  • Ghana: Dr Magdalene Dogbe
  • Uganda: Dr Oskar Asiimwe
  • Egypt: Dr Wesam Meshrif
  • SA: Dr Monde Ntwasa

International advisory board:

  • DrosAfrica
  • ICCGEB Team (Dr Fabian Feiguin)
  • Dr Nahuel Villegas Nieto